Tue. Jul 16th, 2024

Brussels, 24 January 2022

European Parliament’s Committee on Agriculture and Rural Development (AGRI) re-elected Norbert Lins (EPP, DE) as committee Chair for the second half of the legislature, on Monday.

MEPs also elected Benoît Biteau (Greens/EFA, FR)Daniel Buda (EPP, RO)Mazaly Aguilar (ECR, ES) and Elsi Katainen (Renew, FI) as AGRI Vice-Chairs.

Following his re-election by acclamation Norberts Lins said: “In the last two and a half years, we have succeeded in adopting an ambitious Common Agricultural Policy despite difficult circumstances. The Committee has presented agriculture with a common voice time and again. I am therefore all the more pleased about the renewed confidence and will continue to work for attractive conditions for future generations of European farmers and support them in the challenges of the coming years.”

Main responsibilities of the Chair

The Chair presides over committee and coordinators’ meetings, represents the committee both within and outside the European Parliament and presides legislative negotiations led by the committee. Furthermore, the Chair has authority over voting procedures and rules on the admissibility of amendments.

Committee Chair and Vice-Chairs form the bureau, which is responsible for their respective committee’s smooth functioning. The committee bureau holds office for two and a half years (half of the legislature).

Rules on the composition of the bureau

The process for the election of committee bureaus is defined in Rule 213 of the Rules of Procedure of the Parliament, according to which the 48 AGRI full members can vote by acclamation or by secret ballot.

Further information
Forward to your friends