Tue. Jul 16th, 2024

Nathalie Loiseau will continue as the Chair of Parliament’s Security and Defence Subcommittee for the coming two and a half years, untill the end of the current legislative term.

Nathalie Loiseau (Renew, FR) was re-elected by acclamation by subcommittee members on Monday.

“Current times are more and more challenging geopolitically speaking and will keep us busy as members of SEDE: geopolitical crisis in our neighbourhoods, new and evolving threats, erosion of international treaties… I very much look forward to continue working with all my colleagues and am strongly engaged to keep on weighing in in order to have the European Parliament views known and taken into consideration every time European security and Defence are at stake.”, she said after the vote.

By acclamation MEPs also re-elected Nikos Androulakis (S&D, GR), Rasa Jukneviciene (EPP, LT), Ozlem Demirel (The LEFT, DE) and Lukas Mandl (EPP, AT) as the Committee’s Vice-Chairs. They will form, together with Nathalie Loiseau, the Subcommittee’s bureau.

Rules for the election

According to the Rules of Procedure of the European Parliament (Rule 213), the number of Vice-Chairs is determined by Parliament upon a proposal by the Conference of Presidents. The diversity of Parliament must be reflected in the composition of the bureau of each committee and subcommittee. It is not possible, for example, to have an all male or all female bureau or for all of the Vice-Chairs to come from the same Member State.

Further information
Forward to your friends