Mon. Jul 15th, 2024

On Wednesday, European Parliament’s Committee on Legal Affairs (JURI) elected its Chair and Vice-Chairs for the second half of the legislature.

Adrián Vázquez Lázara (Renew, ES) was re-elected as Chair of the Legal Affairs Committee by acclamation for the next two and half years. He has chaired the committee since 17 February 2020, following the departure of former Chair Lucy Nethsingha.

At today’s meeting, members of the committee also elected the four Vice-Chairs:

First Vice-Chair: Sergey Lagodinsky (Greens/EFA, DE)

Second Vice-Chair: Marion Walsmann (EPP, DE)

Third Vice-Chair: Lara Wolters (S&D, NL)

Fourth Vice-Chair: Raffaele Stancanelli (ECR, IT)


Following his re-election Adrián Vázquez Lázara said: “It is with great honour and responsibility that I receive the support of my colleagues to continue chairing the Committee on Legal Affairs for the upcoming two and a half years. I am proud of leading a committee that has successfully managed to continue its parliamentary activity during the darkest period of the pandemic. I am confident that JURI will play a key role in fostering an ambitious legislative agenda during the second half of the mandate. The move towards the digitalisation of justice, the protection of the rule of law and putting Europe in the lead of sustainable corporate governance will be among the main drivers of our action in the years to come”.


The Chair presides over committee and coordinators’ meetings, represents the committee both within and outside the European Parliament and presides legislative negotiations led by the committee. Furthermore, the Chair has authority over voting procedures and rules on the admissibility of amendments.

Committee Chair and Vice-Chairs form the bureau, which is responsible for their respective committee’s smooth functioning. The committee bureau holds office for two and a half years (half of the legislature).

Rules on the composition of the bureau

The process for the election of committee bureaux is defined in Rule 213 of the Rules of Procedure, according to which the committee members can vote by acclamation or by secret ballot.

Further information


Forward to your friends